hiddenblessing

Finding one small blessing each day.

Head in the sand July 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — hiddenblessing @ 4:24 pm

Ostrich“>

Ostrich

 

 

I made an observation to my darling husband the other night.  What I said was something along these lines:

I sometimes think that my personal happiness and general outlook on life is directly tied to how much news I read through the day.  If I spend too much time reading horror story after horror story about this murder or that car wreck or what deplorable thing this person did to that person, I start to get… funky.  I don’t want to write anymore; I don’t want to really do anything more.  I just feel sad and a little despondent.”

He thought about it for a moment, and then said “Hm.  That’s an interesting observation.”  He wasn’t being sarcastic, he meant it.  It is interesting… because it’s really true.  He is a big believer in watching the morning news, first thing, in the morning.  There is very little that gets me more exasperated than before I have even taken a sip of coffee, hearing “A rollover on I-35 overnight took the lives of…”

Please, no.

There is entirely too much pain that goes on in the world today.  And right along with this, there is entirely too much knowledge about it being shared.

It’s really, really hot out.  It’s like 106 or something today.  Yes, we are having the hottest year on record since it has been being recorded, but today is NOT the hottest it’s ever been.  Or the longest it’s been this hot.  Yes, there is A LOT of really awful stuff going on in the world.  A lot of heartache, a lot of pain, a lot of bad things.  But sometimes I think that if we’re not careful, all of this awful pain in the world can wear us down.  Make us loving, kind, gentle humans feel sadness and pain when it’s not even ours to share.

I believe in loving each other, and I believe that when one of mine is hurting or sad, or there is even one who isn’t mine who is hurting or in pain, I will do whatever I can to assist.  I believe we should hold hands in this crazy world, and lift each other up when one of us stumbles.  

But I also believe that we should not set out to read every horrible thing that happens on this beautiful little planet we call home.  At some point, it just turns into overwhelming madness… there is just too much to be done.

So I am going to do what I can for those I can.  I am going to read these blogs that lift me up and inspire me, and I am going to hug my friends and tell them how much I love them.  I am going to put down the mouse, back away from the news channels and websites, and maybe just a little… stick my head in the sand.

Yes, I am an ostrich.

 

2 Responses to “Head in the sand”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Love it – and totally agree. I get so depressed and fearful for my babies when I’m hearing about all these negative things happening in OUR world. Need to hear SOME just for awareness and safety – but definitely needs to be a limit.

  2. Kim Says:

    I have thought this for years……its just too easy to get caught up in the madness….. although you cant go forever with your head in the sand, there are times when its the best thing you can do for your own sanity.


Leave a Reply

