hiddenblessing

Finding one small blessing each day.

May Day baskets May 1, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — hiddenblessing @ 9:25 am

Today is May Day! I was so excited to make May Day baskets with the boys today and then E says “You know no one celebrates May Day anymore, right? It’s like a lost holiday. Basically it’s just ding dong ditching!” Hahah! That’s funny.

When I was little, my mom would always make May Day baskets with us. We would take Dixie cups, pop popcorn, add M&M’s and use pipe cleaners to make handles for our baskets. We’d walk to our friends’ houses, and leave them on the front step of beloved neighbors. Neighbors like Mr. Elg, who helped teach me to ride a bike, taught me a little about woodworking in his garage and rescued my best friend when she was stuck in a tree. What a fun little holiday, to leave treats for those you care about.

So now I’m debating whether to make baskets or not. Would our neighbors even know what these are? Ahh, a lost holiday. That’s a bummer.

I went on a run today. Me! That’s a near miracle, believe me. Thank you to my Fabulous Nikki for inspiring me! She’s on a roll now: I’ve quit smoking, went on a run… I’m a little afraid and a lot excited to see what’s next! πŸ™‚

 

2 Responses to “May Day baskets”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Congrats! Me? We’ve gone to church 2 weeks in a row! YAY! And we still have May-day around here, however I dont think its quite what it was when we were kids… 😦

  2. AlwaysAmazed Says:

    I TOTALLY missed that yesterday was May Day!!! :0
    But it really DID bring back fond memories!!!


Leave a Reply

