hiddenblessing

Finding one small blessing each day.

A long lost friend April 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — hiddenblessing @ 12:50 pm

Tonight, my wonderful friend Dominique will be coming to see me. I haven’t seen her in almost eight years. The last time I saw her, we were bridesmaids for a mutual friend, having a wonderful time at the reception until a family emergency pulled me away.

So much has changed since then. I’ve had another baby, and dramatically changed careers. She graduated from college and got married. For a minute last night, I started to panic… what if we had nothing to say to each other? What if my house wasn’t clean enough? What if she hates margaritas or guacamole or is allergic to my dog?

And then I forced myself to relax. She’s not here – after eight years – to judge my cleaning skills. If she hates dogs (which she doesn’t), the dog can go outside. If she hates margaritas, then I’ll make coffee and pull cookies out of the freezer. But she’s here to see me… and how beautiful is that?

We are blessed with so many people who come in and out of our lives. Some teach us lessons – good and bad. Some are there to lift us up when we need it the most. Some become our family. And some – like Dominique – are just gifts that we only get to enjoy once in a great, great while.

I’m so excited to hug my friend tonight and hear all about the paths life has taken her on since that wedding so many years ago. And then tomorrow morning, I’ll wave goodbye to her again. I wish I could keep her all the time. But I guess that’s what makes friends like her all the more special, isn’t it?

 

Leave a Reply

