hiddenblessing

Finding one small blessing each day.

The sands in my hourglass April 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — hiddenblessing @ 1:35 pm

Sand Escape

Yesterday as I sat in the doctor’s office, holding my sleeping, feverish, fussy baby, a woman and her mother watched me from across the room. I noticed the mother first because she stood next to me as we signed in to see our respective physicians, and only noticed her daughter after she sat down. They looked a lot alike… one in her eighties, one in her sixties, chatting conspiratorily over their magazine articles. The daughter watched me, and soon I noticed the mother was looking at me too. I smiled politely and shifted the sweaty and warm little body I held to the other shoulder.

The daughter got up and came across the room, to stand before me and smile down at my little one. “Cherish it,” she said, reaching out her hand to brush her fingertips over his blond fuzzy head. “Because you just have no idea how fast they grow.” I nodded and smiled, pulling him a little closer to me. She continued on. “It’s so wonderful to be able to hold and cuddle them like that. Even when they are sick.”

And it is. I look at E and B and can only think in awe that I have no idea where the time went. It simply can’t have gone this fast. It breaks my heart! How am I ever going to handle this when they are truly grown? When E moves out someday… when B truly picks a girl he loves more than me? I already have competition in a blue-eyed, blonde, seven year old who tells him he is cool and funny. Oh, my sweet boys. You make my life complete.

So today, as I administer yet another dose of Motrin to my little one, as I tuck his blanket up around his chin again, and fight with him to get the green goo out of his tiny nostrils, I know that I am lucky. I am lucky because I have these three gorgeous gifts, right here, right now. I am lucky because right now, it is I who am calling the pediatrician because of the spiky fever, it is I who gets to pick up more poster board at Hobby Lobby, and watch another brain-numbing video on YouTube with my tween. I am so lucky because I have this moment – I will someday be terribly sad that there isn’t a plastic snorkel and goggles at the bottom of my bathtub. Sad that it is simply clean, and bubble-less, and there is no rubber duckie or McDonald’s Happy Meal toy floating in the water.

But today, it is here. I have school bags and homework and Box Tops and diapers… and I am the luckiest girl. I know that the things that are beautiful and important and cherished will change over time, but I hope that when I don’t have all this anymore, I remember how blessed I was. And I remember that I was doubly-blessed, because I knew it when I had it.

You have these blessings too. It might not be exactly the same, but you’ve got exactly what you are meant to have at this time. It might be the neighbor next door, it might be the flowers gradually growing as spring makes its pastel arrival, it might be the friend who needs you. It might be the woman across from you at the doctor’s office, who reached out to gently remind you… you are blessed.

Have a wonderful day!

 

3 Responses to “The sands in my hourglass”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Thank you! I have been feeling that way too lately – hyper-aware that soon the things that make me grumble will be gone, and I will miss them. For that reason alone, 2 days ago I let my babies dig in my flower bed til their hearts were content. My neighbor pointed it out to me – what they were doing – and was shocked to hear me say “I know” with a smile. And I explained to her that it was perfectly ok, because the flowers will always be there – but I only have a couple years left that my babies will think its SO FUN to dig in the dirt. 🙂

  2. Roxi Says:

    You 2 girls are so smart……you’re parents did a wonderful job raising you as I know that you are both doing with yours! I so miss the time while Tan was little that I got to spend with him. I know that it is hard to go to work everyday and leave them behind. Even though there were some rough and lean times I would do it all over again in a heartbeat! Believe it or not, your children will remember the time that you do spend with them.
    I love you both!

  3. Deb Pate Says:

    Beautifully written! We need to treasure the blessings we have in each NOW moment of our lives.


Leave a Reply

